Free admission on September 24 during Smithsonian Magazine Museum Day
CAVE CREEK – Cave Creek Museum re-opens for the season on Sat., Oct. 1. Located at 6140 Skyline Drive, the Museum features an extensive collection of prehistoric and historic artifacts that describe the lives of Native Americans, miners, ranchers and pioneers.
The public will have a special chance to preview exhibits on Sat., Sept. 24 during the free national Smithsonian Magazine Museum Day. During the event, guests can view Cave Creek Museum’s new and permanent indoor and outdoor exhibits, including an historic Stamp Mill dating back to 1880.
The celebration takes place from 1 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. followed by a special Pre-season member’s reception from 4:30 p.m. to 7 p.m.
Visitors will be able to see the historic 1880 “Golden Reef Mine Stamp Mill” in action at 1:30 p.m. on Saturday, October 8 as volunteers crush hard rock ore in search of gold that can be separated and saved. The Museum is particularly pleased to showcase this 10-Stamp Mill that came from its own mining district and was originally located on Continental Mountain.
From 2 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. on Saturday, October 8, a “Cave Creek Museum Presents” speaker series begins with “What the Flock!”, a special presentation by author, volunteer and Museum board member Kraig Nelson. Nelson will take guests back to a time when thousands of sheep surged through the town’s streets.
On Sunday, October 9, the Museum will present its first Family Fun Workshop, “A Political Time,” from 1:30 p.m. to 3 p.m. Geared towards children ages six and up, the program will focus on why it’s important to vote, show items used in past political races, and provide participants with a chance to create their own posters. Cave Creek Museum is grateful to the Kiwanis Club of Carefree for sponsoring the Family Fun Workshops.
One of the highlights of the Museum’s 47th season is a trunk show that will include travel trunks filled with the finery of years past, such as beautiful gloves and top hats. Evelyn Johnson, Cave Creek Museum’s executive director, said the trunks have not been taken out of storage for more than 20 years. Currently, there are four trunks, including an old military trunk that belonged to Frank Cassanova.
“Frank was a local resident who spent more than four decades mapping and excavating the Blue Wash Ruins on his property behind Tonto Hills,” Johnson said.
Other new exhibits include a “Bling II” Southwestern jewelry display, a Characters of Cave Creek exhibit that showcases colorful local personalities from the past, a new exhibit in the Archaeology Wing of pottery on loan from the Cave Creek Unified School District, an exhibit of one-of-a-kind Bolo ties that belonged to the Honorable Pete Corpstein, who served as state representative, and a special exhibit detailing the history of Cave Creek Fiesta Days Rodeo (CaveCreekProRodeo.com), which will celebrate its 40th year on March 30, 31 and April 1, 2017,
Starting October 1, the museum hours will be Wed., Thurs., Sat. and Sun. from 1 p.m. to 4:30 p.m., and Fri. from 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Entrance fees are $5 for adults; $3 for seniors; and $2 for students. Children 12 and under are free. For information, call (480) 488-2764 or visit www.cavecreekmuseum.org.