Changing of the guard

2023-24 Cave Creek Town Council! — Left to right: council members Tom Augherton and Ernie Bunch, Mayor Bob Morris, Vice Mayor Kathryn Royer, council members Dusty Rhodes, Tom McGuire and Paul Eelkema.

Family and friends were present at the regular Monday night, December 5 meeting of the Cave Creek Town Council as the new council members and mayor were sworn into office.

In addition, Kathryn Royer was elected to a 2-year term as Vice Mayor by a 6-1 vote margin.

Members were given the opportunity to express their views on the future of this area and the uniqueness of the community. While each member ascribed to bring different strengths to the table, there was a common theme: resolve to preserve, to financially plan for the future, to address water issues, to both grow and generate revenue but cautioned against suburban sprawl and to adhere as best they can to the General Plan.

For a full video of the proceedings, go to